VOLUME ONE WINTER 2016

# The OK Parliamentarian

A Publication of the Oklahoma State Association of Parliamentarians

# **ELECTED OFFICERS**

President: Robert R. Fink, RP (405) 721-8640 rrfljf@yahoo.com

Vice-President: Russell Guthrie, PRP (580) 349-1478 russell.guthrie.prp@gmail.com

**Secretary:** Virginia McComas (580) 536-0232 vmccomas@sbcglobal.net

**Treasurer:** Cheryle Sherman (580) 536-1621 <u>CSHE44@aol.com</u>

# **APPOINTED OFFICER**

**Parliamentarian:** Rod G. Davidson, PRP (405) 517-1608 <a href="mailto:rxdavidson@msn.com">rxdavidson@msn.com</a>

## **MESSAGE FROM PRESIDENT:**

As the president of OSAP I am receiving a number of requests for help with the youth groups; both to help in parliamentary education and for judges for the parli-pro competitions. The standing rules state: " 1. Immediately following the annual unit officer election, their addresses shall be sent to the OSAP President, Membership and Communications Chairmen and NAP." Without this information I have to refer those persons who request help to the NAP site. I do not want to refer requests that belong to the OSAP and the local units to the NAP. Thank you for your cooperation. OSAP also needs this information to keep the units informed and to ensure that you receive your copy of this publication as well as to keep the OSAP web site updated. Robert Fink, RP, President



# **COMMITTEE CHAIRS**

Audit: Virginia McComas

(580) 536-0232 vmccomas@sbcglobal.net

Bylaws: Jim Lawson, RP

(405) 361-4597 Jlawson11@cox.net

Communications: C.J. Cavin

(405) 305-9540 cj@cjcavin.com

Convention: Mary Davidson, RP

(405) 524-8953 mdavidsonrp@msn.com

**Education:** Linda Lawson

(405) 524-1261 linda\_lawson@cox.net

Membership: Russell Guthrie, PRP

(580) 349-1478 russell.guthrie.prp@gmail.com

Nominating: W. Craig Henry, PRP

(405) 384-1322 henrywc@dbameeting.com

Yearbook: Deborah Burroughs

(405) 749-2849

# Catherine M. Lisle

Hardback copy of RONR donated to Tulsa Library System, Central Library, Tulsa

Catherine M. Lisle, of Tulsa, passed away December 25, 2014.

# **Obituary:**

http://www.tulsaworld.com/obituaries/localobituaries/mary-catherine-lisle/article\_00aa935d-18b8-5cbb-8881-8c33dc40e0ec.html



1

# **Delores Yvonne Myles**

Hardback copy of RONR donated to Tomlinson Middle School Library, Lawton, where Delores taught for 35 years

Delores Yvonne Myles, of Lawton, passed away Sept. 3, 2015.



## **Obituary:**

http://www.swoknews.com/obituaries/delores-myles

The Standing Rules of the Oklahoma State Association of Parliamentarians include the following:

"A deceased member will be memorialized by OSAP with the presentation of a hardback copy of Robert's Rules of Order, Newly Revised to a public library or public school library in the area in which the Member resided."

Learning - Learning Promote

a great PARLIAMENTARY experience

Principles & Philosophies of Parliamentary Law

# **UNIT PRESIDENTS**

### **Chisholm Trail Unit:**

Dr. Delores M. Meyer (405) 422-2807 dmmeyer1988@sbcglobal.net

### **Great Plains Unit:**

Cheryle D. Sherman (580) 536-1621 CSHE44@aol.com

### **Green Country Unit:**

No information provided.

### **Sooner Unit:**

Robert R. Fink, RP (405) 721-8640 rrfljf@yahoo.com

### **Oklahoma City Unit:**

Mildred G. Keso, RP (405) 348-8476 LRKESO@cox.net

### Oil Capital Unit:

Nancy S. Vaughan (918) 598-3891 jv123032@chouteautel.com

### Will Rogers Unit:

Linda L Lawson (405) 524-1261 linda\_lawson@cox.net

# REPORT OF THE BYLAWS COMMITTEE

Proposed amendments to the Bylaws of the Oklahoma State Association of Parliamentarians should be sent to:

Jim Lawson, RP, Bylaws Committee Chairman

Member or members recommending the proposed amendment should include the rationale and should submit his or her name.

# CALL FOR NEWSLETTER ARTICLES

If you have news in your unit, please send an e-mail to:

C.J. Cavin, Communications Committee Chairman

Changes in your mailing address or e-mail address should be sent to the Communications Committee and to the Membership Committee.

# **CALL FOR OFFICER NOMINATIONS**

The OSAP bylaws provide that Units or members of OSAP may present to the Nominating Committee names of proposed candidates for office, together with qualifications and consent form. The committee will consider all recommendations.

Elections will be held at the 2016 annual OSAP convention on June 18, 2016 for the offices of President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer.

Nominations should be submitted as soon as possible, along with qualifications and consent form via e-mail to:

Craig Henry, Nominating Chairperson henrywc@dbameeting.com